Fraud Blocker


The Head On Portrait Prize is 16 years old – and it’s time to shake it up.

Up until now, the cash prize has been split equally between the winners of the Portrait, Landscape and Mobile categories. In 2020, we will consolidate the cash prizes into large sum for a winner of each category of the Head On Photo Awards, making it possible for someone to focus on their dream project (and will also continue to award prizes to winners of each category).

I created the Head On Portrait Prize in 2004 with the belief that every photographer deserves an equal chance to have their work shown publicly.

I believe this today as strongly as ever having developed one single prize into several categories of the Head On Photo Awards where all entries continue to be judged without the artists’ names.

I am incredibly proud of my team as together, we presented the highest quality works of over 1,200 photographers over the past 15 years and launching the careers of some of these photographers. 

We have grown into one of the most generous photo competitions in the world has awarded over $700,000 in cash and products as well as fully producing stunning exhibitions that now travel internationally. This is all on the back of passionate staff and volunteers – despite the lack of significant public funding. Over 85% of our funding comes from the photographic community and our amazing sponsors.

But we want to do even more. We want the experience of winning the Head On Photo Awards to be life-changing.

With this in mind, we decided to shake up the Head On Photo Awards – what is not changing is our commitment to producing and curating exhibitions of the highest quality, promoting excellent photography and photographers to Australia and the world.

More details will be released in the coming weeks.

Signing off for now,



Above image credits: Joel Pratley, Abir Sultan, Tobias Titz, Loulou D’Aki

bg-ctap-mobile bg-ctap-desktop

Head On Photo Awards 2024

Entries to the Head On Photo Awards 2024 open in May/June.

Image detail: Gary Ramage