The prizes are open internationally in all categories (except Students) and Applicants can enter up to 5 works into each category. Submitted works do NOT have to have been taken in the past 12 months.

judges across the 5 categories are:

Moshe Rosenzveig, Head On Photo Festival Director
James Estrin, Photographer/Lens Blog Editor, The New York Times
Susan Sedgwick, Head of City Portfolio, Museum of Sydney, Justice & Police Museum and Susannah Place Museum
Bronwyn Rennex, Director, Stills Gallery
Lauren Wendle, Vice President Nielsen Photo Group
John McDonald Art Critic, Sydney Morning Herald
Michael Robinson Chavez, Photographer LA Times
Brenda May, Director, Brenda May Gallery
Michael Baranovic, Photographer
James Dooley, Director, Alexia Foundation
Lynne Roberts Goodwin, Photographer/Senior Lecturer College of Fine Art (University of New South Wales)
Marc Gafen, Editor, Capture Magazine
Tegan Sadlier, Picture Editor, Fairfax Media
Tanya Schneider, Visual Arts Convenor for the Association of Independent Schools New South Wales.
3 winners per category will be awarded prizes. The total prize pool across all categories is worth over A$50,000 including A$20,000 in cash.

DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSION (ALL PRIZES) – Sunday 11pm (EDT, Australia time) 8 March 2015

Winners of each category will be announced on 1 May 2015.

bg-ctap-mobile bg-ctap-desktop

Head On Photo Awards 2024

Entries to the Head On Photo Awards 2024 open in May/June.

Image detail: Gary Ramage