Fraud Blocker

Head On Student Prize

20 Finalists
This event has concluded
Entry Fee: Free

Inexpensive devices and new and emergent platforms for sharing enable young people to spontaneously capture and publish images, reaching far wider audiences than in the past. This shift in the way we engage with and practice photography is in line with the festival ethos of inclusivity.

The Head On Student Prize was launched in 2015 to celebrate and nurture the huge talent-pool of next generation of photo-artists and is one of four categories of the Head On Photo Awards.

All works entered into the Awards are anonymous through the judging process and as a result, the merit of the work is the focus, bringing together both newly unearthed and established Australian and international talent.

The judging panel changes each year resulting in exhibitions that are unpredictable and diverse from year to year. Judges of the Head On Photo Awards 2018 were picture editor, The Guardian, Jonny Weeks; award winning photographer David Dare Parker; Director of Three Shadows Photography Art Centre (Beijing), Nataline Colonnello; award- winning leading photojournalist Paula Bronstein; picture editor New York Times, Mikko Takkunen; award winning photographer Nancy Borowick; documentary storyteller James Whitlow Delano; artist and Somerset House board member Marcus Lyon; Director, Australian Centre for Photography, Cherie McNair; independent curator Alasdair Foster; award winning photographer Katrin Koenning; visual arts educator Louise Heilpern and Head On Photo Festival Director Moshe Rosenzveig.

Major prize by:

This event has concluded
Entry Fee: Free
© Rob Johnston

List your event or exhibition

List your exhibition or photography event on our site to reach out to the Australian photographic community.

bg-ctap-mobile bg-ctap-desktop

Head On Photo Awards 2024

Entries to the Head On Photo Awards 2024 open in May/June.

Image detail: Gary Ramage