Fraud Blocker

Head On Student Award

This event has concluded
Entry Fee: Free

The Head On Student Award recognises innovations in photography by Australian K—12 Students: the next generation of Australia’s emerging artists. This edition of the Head On Student Prize demonstrates an experimental approach to the photographic medium. Influenced by social media, digital photography and traditional photographic processes, these images provide us with a dynamic view into the future of contemporary photography.

Supported by



This exhibition is outdoors. Please check what COVID-19 restrictions are in place before you visit.


Winner: Chege Mbuthi (VIC)

First runner-up: Holly Houssarini (NSW)

Second runner-up: Leila Edelstein (VIC)


Akesa Haidari, Ava Budden, Ben Cantelo, Brenda Lee, Charlotte Ocken, Chege Mbuthi, Cian O’Hagan, Ella Gunning, Emily Weeks, Holly Houssarini, Leila Edelstein, Lily Clark, Natasja Shearman, Oliver Gallois, Sam Brasher, Shayla Watts, Sophie Bagster, Sophie Way, Talia Skuse, Zachary Tomlinson

This event has concluded
Entry Fee: Free
© Rob Johnston

List your event or exhibition

List your exhibition or photography event on our site to reach out to the Australian photographic community.

bg-ctap-mobile bg-ctap-desktop

Head On Photo Awards 2024

Entries to the Head On Photo Awards 2024 open in May/June.

Image detail: Gary Ramage